Jeffrey McComas
Indiana Credit Union Hall of Fame Inductee 2015

Ron Mazur
Jeffrey McComas
A 35-year veteran of the credit union industry, McComas became President/CEO of Solidarity Community FCU in 1991. Under his leadership the credit union has grown from $42 million in assets to its current size of $213 million. It currently serves more than 25,000 members in Howard, Cass, Miami and Tipton Counties. Solidarity Community FCU is well-known in its market, and McComas has led a variety of member-focused initiatives including loan and deposit programs, electronic delivery methods and partnerships with community groups to deliver financial services and financial literacy. McComas has served the credit union business as a board member for the Indiana Credit Union League and a member of several League committees including the Audit & Finance Committee. He has also held leadership roles at Indiana’s corporate credit union and at the credit union chapter level. Outside of the credit union business, he is a member of the Rotary Club and the Howard Community Hospital Foundation Board. He is a past member of the Howard County Chamber of Commerce and the Howard County Credit Bureau.
George McNichols
Indiana Credit Union Hall of Fame Inductee 2015
Ron Mazur
George McNichols
McNichols served on the League Board from 1999-2001 and from 2004-2014. He was League chairman from 2008-2009. His credit union career began in 1975 while he was still a student at Indiana University. He worked part-time in the collections department at the university’s credit union for almost two years. After graduation he became a league rep at the Texas Credit Union League during what he remembers as "the heyday of credit unions." Among other accomplishments, he was in the "Founders Club" because he played a role in organizing so many credit unions in Texas. Before returning to Indiana to work for Bedford Independent FCU in 1984, McNichols also was CEO at two Texas credit unions. Under his direction, Bedford Independent FCU became Hoosier Hills CU at the same time it underwent a state charter conversion in 1997. McNichols has remained a passionate advocate for credit unions across the country. He serves at the national level as a member of CUNA’s Governmental Affairs Committee. For the League, he is a member and past chairman of the Governmental Affairs Committee, and he is a member of the Political Involvement Leadership Advisory Group and the Board Development/Election Review Committee. McNichols envisioned and championed the Network Credit Union Concept which was recently approved by NCUA and presented to credit unions nationally to allow credit unions to combine without giving up their unique brand identity and local market presence.

Award Criteria

METHOD: The Awards Committee may select one person based upon the criteria relating to credit union, chapter, League, national, volunteer and community activities. Due to the criteria and qualification process, the Hall of Fame Award may not be presented every year. Nominations may be submitted by the Awards Committee or board of directors of any chapter or credit union in Indiana by completing a nomination form and returning it by the deadline. A Personal Data Form will be sent to each nominee.

RECOGNITION: Induction into the Hall of Fame takes place at the League’s annual convention. A photo-etched plaque of each inductee will also be displayed in the Credit Union Hall of Fame, located in the League office.

ELIGIBILITY: Any person who has given long-term paid or volunteer service to the credit union movement is eligible. The immediate past chairman of the Indiana Credit Union League automatically will be considered for the Hall of Fame. Current directors and employees of the League and Servicecorp are not eligible to receive the award.

CRITERIA: To be inducted into the Indiana Credit Union Hall of Fame, the recipient must:

  • be a volunteer, employee and/or member of a credit union that is a member of the League.

  • have served on the League board, a League committee, as a chapter official and/or on the national level.

  • have selflessly given exceptional time, effort and talent to the betterment of the Indiana credit union movement.

  • have served, assisted or been involved in the credit union movement for more than 20 years.

  • be in good standing in the community.

  • understand and personify the credit union philosophy of "People Helping People," promote the credit union ideal and actively demonstrate loyalty to the entire organized credit union movement.

  • have demonstrated organizational leadership, high professional standards, volunteer contributions to the movement and technical innovations in credit union service.

Past Winners


Jeffrey McComas
George McNichols


​Lori Gonzalez
Ruth Jenkins
Lamoura Munse
Robert "Smokey" Stowers

2013 ​Ron Mazur
2012 ​Millie Cox
Loren Roth
2011 Norm Blum
Ron Collier
Sandy Heller
2009 Ann Garmon
2008 Jenny Budreau
Bruce Ingraham
Carol Stanley
2007 Angela Dufour
Mike Hussey
Ron Linstromberg
Ralph Marvel
2006 Ed Meyer
Barbara Berghoff
2005 Gary Irvin
Roger Sepanski
2004 William Connors
Shirley Wilhelm
2002 Trent Kerr
2000 Ronald Budzinski
John Jeter
1998 Randy Glassburn
Donna Hasty
1997 William F. Hannah
1996 Loretta Burd
F.E. Maxwell
Dan Schoenherr
1995 Richard J. Devine
Leo Kaminsky
1994 Americo (Bill) Borgetti
Jerry Yerkes
1993 Bruno J. Setlak
1992 ​Anthony J. Alt
Larry Zehrung
1991 ​Rudy J. Rossi
1990 S.M. (Pete) Crear
Judy M. James
Michael H. Phipps
Robert W. Pogue
Robert D. Swem
Paul Aimone
W. Lloyd Alsman
Leona Bruno
E.E. Barnbrook
James A. Barney, Sr.
Gregory L. Blount
Walter Campbell
Clarence Clarkowski
Richard V. Cleaver
Jim Coffin
S.P. (Sal) DeMao
Kenneth C. Duncan
Robert H. Gard
Earl Hardy
Waymon B. Hawkins
E.R. (Tony) Hile
W. A. Hinze
Harry B. Holloway
Morton E. Jester
Charles W. Jones
Ruth E. Kelly
Laurence B. Kilburn
W.G. (Bill) Kirby
Maxwell A. Meise
Clarence E. Oldham
Ralph N. Phelps
L. S. Poliquin
Richard J. Rice
Fred Robinson
Harold E. Short
Logan K. Smith
Michael Verkuilen
William R. Warner
Douglas Yoder
William H. Yohler

Related Documents