Don Weaver
Leadership Achievement Award Winner 2016

   Don Weaver

The year was 1964 when Don Weaver came to the eight-year old credit union, and in the years since he has been a volunteer member of the board of directors, the credit union has seen a number of modernizing changes. Don has had an influence on all of them, from the addition of numerous products and services to the development of the branch network, a merger, a charter change and CEO transitions.

His career spanned 40 years at Indiana University where he was Assistant to the President for State Relations. As a political advocate for the university, his relationships with many key contacts carried over, and he represented credit unions across the state as a member of the League’s Governmental Affairs Committee for several years. Don has helped deliver the credit union message to state and federal legislators during many trips to Washington, D.C. on credit unions’ behalf. His advocacy continues as a member of the League’s Political Involvement Leadership Advisory Group. He has been a key contributor to IU Credit Union’s governance issues as well, laying a foundation for future volunteers. He was also instrumental in establishing the credit union’s tradition of providing scholarships for high school, Ivy Tech and IU students.
To recognize his many contributions, Don was inducted into the CUES Volunteer Hall of Fame in 2011.
His volunteerism extends beyond the credit union and includes the Bloomington Boys’ Club, Bloomington Little League, Faith Lutheran Church, the Salvation Army and University Lutheran Church.


Click for Nomination Form​

Award Criteria

The Leadership Achievement Award (previously named the Volunteer Achievement Award) was created in 1990 to recognize credit union volunteers who have selflessly given of themselves to promote the credit union ideal and better Indiana's credit union movement.

METHOD: The Awards Committee may select one person per year based upon the criteria relating to credit union, chapter, League, national, volunteer and community activities. The Awards Committee or the leadership of any chapter or credit union in Indiana may submit names by completing the League nomination form and returning it by the deadline.

RECOGNITION: The winner will be announced at the League’s annual convention. In addition, the recipient’s name will be added to a plaque in the Credit Union Hall of Fame that lists all winners of this award.

ELIGIBILITY: Anyone currently serving or who has served within the past year on the board or committee of a League-affiliated credit union is eligible. Current directors and employees of the League and Servicecorp are not eligible to receive the award.

CRITERIA: Candidates for the Leadership Achievement Award must:

  • be in good standing in the community.

  • understand and personify the credit union philosophy of "People Helping People."

  • promote the credit union ideal, and actively demonstrate loyalty to the entire organized credit union movement.

  • exhibit an unselfish devotion to his/her duties as a credit union official.

  • be dedicated to and believe in the importance and value of continuing education and training.

  • have success in maintaining or improving the financial fitness of his/her own credit union.

  • exhibit dedication to and a belief in the credit union system as evidenced by involvement at the chapter and League levels and participation in other activities to further the organized movement.

Past Winners



​Don Weaver

Milton Flowers

2014 ​Kenny Greenwell
​2013 ​John Dierdorf
2012 Steve Kozel, Sr.
2011 Jerry Walters
2010 John Lightle
2009 Vicki Garrett
2007 James Barney
2006 Robert Sturm
Gene Wessel
2005 Robert Weaver
2004 Stephen Lovejoy
2003 Ed Meyer
2002 Ralph Marvel
​2001 ​Luther Ferrell
2000 ​Robert Tillema
1999 Mark Trgovich
1998 John D. Wilson
1997 Logan K. Smith
1996 Jerry Spindler
1995 Robert Matthews
1994 Arnold Bass
1993 Robert (Smokey) Stowers
1992 Clarence Huhnke
1991 Richard H. Dunnuck
Bruno J. Setlak
1990 Frank W. Meyer

Known as the Volunteer Achievement Award prior to 2009