Professional Achievement Award

Paul Marsh, Teachers CU

Professional Achievement Award Winner 2019

Bill SchirmerPaul Marsh 
Paul has been with Teachers​ CU (TCU) for his entire professional career, starting as a staff accountant in 1990 and rising tohis current position of President/CEO. His credit union holds more than $3 billion in assets and serves more than 300,000 members from 55 service centers throughout Indiana and southwest Michigan. Paul has overseen significant expansion into  new communities, including the recent acquisition of New Buffalo Savings Bank. The credit union's commercial lending services also thrive under Paul's management, and there has been a recent focus on the member experience that is delivered through online and mobile banking. Under Paul's leadership, financial education and empowerment programs have had a positive effect on members' financial lives And, partnership programs with school districts have also grown. 
Beyond his own credit union, Paul is a member of the League's Governmental Affairs committee and has been a key legislative contact. He is also active in the national credit union community where he has been involved with MEMBERS Development Company, Callahan & Associates, the PSCU board, XP advisory board and Fiserv. Currently he is on the CUES CEO Council, CUNA's National Credit Union Roundtable Advisory Council, and CUNA's Credit Union  Consumer Consideration Committee, which is responsible for the Open Your Eyes campaign. He served internationally as well, traveling to Ukraine in 2017 as part of a World Council program to help small farmers and ag entrepreneurs. 
In the South Bend community, Paul is involved in leadership roles with the South Bend Regional Chamber of Commerce, Indiana Youth Institute, and the Judd Leighton School of Business and Economics at IU South Bend. 

Award Criteria

The Indiana Credit Union League's Professional Achievement Award was created in 1990 to recognize paid credit union managers who have selflessly given of themselves to promote the credit union ideal and better the credit union movement in Indiana. 

METHOD: The Awards Committee may select one person per year based upon the criteria relating to credit union, chapter, League, national, volunteer and community activities. The Awards Committee or leadership of any chapter or credit union in Indiana may submit names by completing and returning the nomination form.

RECOGNITION: The winner will be announced at the annual convention. In addition, the recipient’s name will be added to a plaque in the lobby area of the League’s office that lists winners of this award.

ELIGIBILITY: The nominee must be a paid, full-time manager/CEO of a League-affiliated credit union. Current directors and employees of the League and Servicecorp are not eligible to receive the award.

CRITERIA: Candidates for the Professional Achievement Award must:

  • be in good standing in the community.
  • understand and personify the credit union philosophy of “People Helping People.”
  • promote the credit union ideal and actively demonstrate loyalty to the entire organized credit union movement.
  • exhibit leadership and management ability.
  • be able to coordinate and work with volunteers and paid staff.
  • have a record of success in maintaining or improving the financial fitness of his/her own credit union.
  • exhibit an unselfish devotion to his/her duties as a credit union professional.
  • be dedicated to and believe in the importance and value of continuing education and training.
  • have success in the development and expansion of services to members of his/her own credit union.

Past Winners

​2018​​ ​Bill Schirmer
​2017 ​Amy Sink
​2016 ​Cindy Duke
​2015 ​David Abernat​hy
Randy Glassburn
Chris Wardrip
Karla Salisbury
Loren Roth
Michael Burch
Lisa Schlehuber
Dallas Bergl
Bruce Ingraham
Ron Budzinski
Ron Collier
Ann Garmon
Dick Kibbey
Jack Sheets
​​Art Schai
Carol Stanley
Sandra Heller
Barbara A. Berghoff
James Mills
George Dixon
Joseph J. Baldin
Mike Hussey
Loretta Burd
Eugene G. Hills
Alex J. Knaver
Juanita (Jinks) Happel