​News Release: Teachers CU’s Karol Griffin inducted into Indiana Credit Union Hall of Fame

October 3, 2017

INDIANAPOLIS – Karol Griffin of Teachers Credit Union was inducted into the Indiana Credit Union Hall of Fame during the Indiana Credit Union League’s statewide convention. She was honored at the Chairman’s Awards Banquet at the JW Marriott Hotel on September 22.
Over her 40-year career she has held a number of key leadership positions in retail, human resources, branch operations and facilities at the credit union, where she was one of the first females to reach the vice president level. Griffin has also served as Executive Director of the TCU Foundation, whose youth financial literacy efforts have won a national award. Teachers Credit Union serves nearly 300,000 members in Indiana and Michigan.
Her contributions outside Teachers CU have benefited credit unions and their members in Indiana and nationwide. Griffin’s leadership was instrumental in the growth of shared branching as Credit Union Centers of North Central Indiana merged with others to form one statewide organization called Credit Union Centers of Indiana, and eventually included Illinois to become Credit Union Centers, where Griffin was president for 15 years. Her skills were recognized on a national scale when she was elected to the board of CUSC, a position she held for 10 years. She was influential in helping the CUSC board adopt the vision and strategy that led to partnering with CO-OP Financial Services, ultimately leading to the combining of the operations of three national shared branching networks into CO-OP Shared Branching, a unified national network, which currently has more than 5,600 locations throughout the United States.
Griffin holds Certified Chief Executive credentials from Credit Union Executive Society (CUES), and has received the CUES Rising 100 Award. She also has a Bachelor’s degree in Organizational Management and a Masters of Business Administration from Bethel College.
Karol Griffin (left) of Teachers Credit Union accepts her award from League Chairman Chuck Donovan of Members Source Credit Union.